August 12, 2016 —
The Probate Court is not just for estates. It is also the place to go to get a weapons carry license. In order to obtain a weapons carry license there are a few requirements you must meet: you must 1) be at least 21 years old (or over the age of 18 and an active duty service member), 2) submit to a criminal background check, 3) be photographed & fingerprinted, and 4) pay the requisite fee ($77.50 for Cobb County).
There are some restrictions to own can obtain a weapons carry license. O.C.G.A. §16-11-129, provides a list of individuals who are prohibited from receiving a weapons carry license including, but not limited to, individuals convicted of a felony, individuals who are mentally incompetent, illegal aliens or undocumented citizens, individuals who have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces, or individuals who are unlawful users of or addicted to any controlled substance.
The weapons carry license permits an individual to carry a handgun and is valid for five years. Georgia law additionally allows a person licensed to carry a handgun or weapon in another state whose laws recognize and give effect to a Georgia weapons carry license to carry a handgun in Georgia, but only while the licensee is not a resident of Georgia. Even with a weapons carry license there are certain places that are off-limits, including schools, airports, courthouses, jails/prisons, churches or places of worship, and within 150 feet of any polling place when elections are being conducted.
For more information regarding concealed weapons permits, contact the Cobb County Probate Court.